RN Orientation. Week 1:

Yeahhh, son!

I finally accepted a RN position.

Is it what I wanted?

NO.

You can’t win them all.

After getting over the disappointment of not landing my dream job and being forced into a position I didn’t even apply for, I have made up my mind to be happy. Why? Because I have to live with me. Being a new nurse is terrifying. I don’t want to be miserable and terrified. In the position that I accepted, I will have the opportunity to care for ICU, progressive, and acute care patients from all different service lines and specialties throughout the teaching hospital. The unit also cares for floor declines/crashes, ED (admitted) overflow, direct admits, etc.

If you recall, I have worked in this particular hospital for the last 2 years as a pool nursing care tech. Being in the pool allowed me to work in every single unit throughout the entire hospital. Which means, I’ve teched many times in the unit I will be working in as a RN. It also means that I am well aware of the reputation and atmosphere of every unit in the joint. The unit I was forced into has one of the worst reputations in the place. I’ve seen both sides of the coin, and I do believe (in some instances) that this reputation is unfair. The set up of this unit is a hard concept to understand, unless you’ve experienced it. The goal for an acute/progressive pt stay is <30 hrs. For an ICU pt it’s <60. That means on most days, the unit turns over at least half, if not more, of their occupied beds. This creates a hectic environment and the units receiving our patients are never happy. Labs weren’t drawn, orders left uncompleted, no/bad IVs, poor communication, the complaints go on and on. However, I have witnessed the instances where this reputation is fair. I have seen lazy nurses choose to send their patients out like a hot mess with uncompleted orders, dirty briefs/beds, and bad/no IVs. But…there are lazy nurses everywhere. And I refuse to be one of them. Therefore, I have made up my mind to be happy. Maybe I’m the change they need? Or maybe, I’ll just do my 6 months and transfer. Who knows?! Either way, I’m happy.

Orientation started yesterday. I have already been through this junk once, but they are paying me 2x as much this go around. I did get out of a second hospital orientation, which is why you’re getting this blog post. *thumbs up* I am so anxious to get to the floor and start working. It feels like it has been too long. My nursing skills are going to be rusty!

Anyone else starting a new job? Even better… Is anyone starting a job they didn’t exactly want? Or have experiences to share from a nursing job they didn’t really want? I want to hear from you!

Join the conversation by posting a comment. If you like this post, or any of my other posts, feel free to pass it along. Choose your preferred platform by clicking on the title of the post, then clicking one of those fancy buttons at the bottom of the post! :)

8 Comments

Filed under Life after Nursing School.

8 responses to “RN Orientation. Week 1:

  1. I’m completing my first week of orientation! I’ll be in the CVICU where I also was an intern. Regardless of my experience, it’s going to be difficult transitioning into a new role. The unit is extremely intense, there’s a lot of learning and I’ll have to get used to delegating and communicating with providers more often. However, all of the other nurses are extremely helpful and are always willing to teach! The mid level providers are also right on the unit so that’s another plus.

    It sucks to not get the unit you want, but still being happy about it is definitely the right attitude to have. I remember in nursing school some students were upset with their clinical rotations and they forget that any experience is good and you can gain so much! I wish you all the best and hope you enjoy the rest of your orientation!

    • Yay for orientation! I also did a summer internship in the institution I took a job with, but not in the same unit that I am orienting with. I definitely don’t think any amount of experience can truly prepare you for such a huge role change and the amount of responsibility that comes with being a ‘RN’!
      CTVICU is crazy intense! You go, girl! Sounds like it’s a great place. I’m happy to hear that the seasoned nurses are helpful. Always a bonus! I believe that, with time, the delegation and communication will become more natural. It’s a learned skill that we will have to practice! Hope your orientation week is wrapping up nicely! Keep in touch.

  2. nurseeyeroll

    I remember my nursing orientation. Twas scary, but I had a great preceptor. And the ones that sucked, I learned how to not be a nurse by watching them. I have some posts specifically for new grads on my blog nurseeyeroll.com under the New Grad tab. I hope you find them helpful should you decide to check them out!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I got very lucky and got a preceptor that I actually know and get along well with. That makes things seem a little less scary. But, only a little! Haha I will definitely check things out!

  3. Congrats on landing your first job as an RN!! There will be days when you love it, and days when you hate it, and everything in between. Hang in there, you have the right attitude, and that alone will carry you in the right direction.

  4. Hi there! My name is Cameron and I was wondering if you’d be willing to answer a quick question I have about your blog. I would greatly appreciate it if you could email me cvonstjames (at) gmail (dot) com – Thanks, I hope you’re having a great day! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Nursing, Betches. | Nursing: RAW

Leave a Reply

