1 Down, 4 To Go!

My, my…look at the time! My very first semester of nursing school is a wrap! 0.o My mind is still blown. I haven’t had enough time to absorb the fact that I have no scholarly duties for the next 3ish weeks. I do, however, have some fantastical news to report… I GOT STRAIGHT A’s! Shocked? I know, me too. I didn’t think that was a feat that would ever be accomplished in scary ol’ nursing school. Now that it has been accomplished, I appreciate the fact that I worked so diligently throughout the semester.

I’m almost sad to see this semester pass, but at the same time, I’m so excited to see what the next one holds. My clinical instructor this semester had an impact on my career that will forever be with me. She was wonderful! I’m so very thankful that I ended up with her! I will admit, I was terrified of her at first. She isn’t the most friendly looking person in the world. Have you ever met one of those people who use very, very little to almost NO facial expression while they talk? She was one of those. Very hard to read. Amazingly, she turned out to be an absolute delight! And, to make things even better, she is the instructor for the 10 credit hour lecture/clinical course next semester! Foot in the door? Absolutely. Not to gloat on myself, but she loved me. 😀 How did everyone else’s rotations go? Anything exciting or (dare I even ask…) horrible? I have some great patient stories…seems like I was assigned to all of the turds this semester! Hehe 🙂

I have another tidbit of good news, I FINALLY got a job! I was able to procure a position as a Patient Care Tech at the local hospital. Who has two thumbs and is extremely pumped about this? That’s right, this kid! I have been looking for a PCT/SRNA/CNA position since I became state certified in September of 2010. Not to mention, the money is pretty dang good for this college student. It’s PRN (40 hours a month) and in the pool, so I get to float around to all of the different floors and an entire second hospital. Fun, right? Let’s hope so! I have training the first week of January, so I’ll let you all know how that goes.

Next semester, I’m looking at Pharmacology and Med-Surg II. Sounds peachy! Maybe…I’ve heard some really horrible, terrible horror stories about Pharm. YIKES. That makes me feel a little uneasy, but I had also heard horror stories about Pathophysiology. It turned out to be the easiest class of the semester! These two classes account for 13 credit hours. 13. 0.o We still only have one clinical day a week, but it has gone from 6 hours to 8-9 hours a day. *Fingers Crossed* I get the clinical site I want. 😀 What’s next in the line-up for everyone else?

I guess that’s enough for now. I could go on and on and on about this semester. I am absolutely in love with nursing! It IS the greatest profession ever. EVER. I hope to hear that you all have had a great semester! Anyone have fun plans for the break?

Have a very Merry Christmas, friends! I should be posting pretty regularly over the break, so keep your eyes peeled for some more of this goodness!

-Rach

I want to hear from you! Join the conversation by posting a comment! If you like this post, or any of my other posts, feel free to pass it along! Choose your preferred platform by clicking on the title of the post, then clicking one of those fancy buttons at the bottom of the post! :)

5 Comments

Filed under Nursing School

5 responses to “1 Down, 4 To Go!

  1. Congrats my dear! It’s truly a great feeling to be able to breath for at least a few weeks! Keep plugging along because you are on your way to becoming fabulous!!!! ❤

    • Thank you, I hope I become fabulous! 😛 I like you! Thanks for the happy, kind words! I see you subscribed, awesome sauce. Please hang around! I’m trying to get my butt in gear to stay on top of my blogging!

      Oh, and um…Nurse Jackie is absolutely amazing. You absolutely have to watch every second of it! In fact, you might as well just buy it on iTunes. You’ll want to watch it multiple times! The new season will start in March (? can’t remember exactly, and I don’t have Showtime anymore. *Cries*). I can’t wait to hear what you think!

      -Rach

  2. Hehe, just saw your ‘What happens in clinicals, stays in clinicals’. Love it!!!

  3. Hey Rach! A Long time indeed! 🙂 Good to hear from ya and Congratulations of finally setting the date! :))

    Pharm and Med-surg sound fun hehe. I’m doing OB and Med-surg next semester looking forward to it !

    Glad everything is going superb for you and Happy Holidays!

    • Thank you! We are pretty excited, but we almost don’t have a choice. Haha I can’t pay for school unless we get hitched. Crazy, huh?

      Ugh, I’m not going to lie. I really dread OB/Peds. :/ I hope you really enjoy it! Happy Holidays to you as well! Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

