Slow Your Roll, Nursing School!

Oh. My. WOW.

This week has been unbelievably insane. I don’t know how any single human being who works any kind of job or has children/a family to care for makes it through nursing school alive. I haven’t even had time to breathe! THIS IS ONLY THE FIRST WEEK!

So, you might be able to tell, I’m a little stressed out. Ok, more like A LOT stressed out! I have my first exam next week and it’s a dosage calculation exam. We have to pass it with a grade of 80% or higher. If we fail to do so, we cannot pass meds in the clinical setting until we achieve that 80%. If you aren’t successful after 3 tries, you’re out.

Now, I’m not horrible at the math, but I’m not completely comfortable with it either. We just learned IV drip rates on Wednesday. Last semester’s dosage calculation test contained no IV stuff. I made a 100% on that one! I’d love to have a repeat this time around, because that would give my grade a nice boost for the semester. I guess I’ll be spending my weekend working out 23489074579 med math problems! 😛

I also have TONS of reading. I already expected that, so no shock there. I just need to suck it up, and get into the habit of doing it. I really dislike reading. 😐 Anywho, everything else went really well this week! So far, I’m having a blast! I hope all of you are, too!

I think I have decided to quit looking for a job. And those who are pressuring me, *COUGH* mom and dad, can just suck it. I honestly don’t think I could do it. I don’t have enough time in the day to get everything finished now, let alone work a job! I also realized this week, that there is absolutely no way I could have continued to commute the 1 hour and 15 minutes that I have in previous semesters. It’s just such a waste of time that I could be using in other ways. (Like…sleeping, eating, bathing, studying, reading, and did I mention sleeping?!) Thank God that everything has work out in the way that it has! Now, if the 1st could just get here so that I could move! (And turn 22! :D) This first week of driving has worn. me. out!

I hope that everyone has had a fantastic week! Please, please let me know how things went for you guys! I’m sorry I didn’t post sooner, but as you can see, all hell as broken loose! Enjoy your weekend! I’ve got some fun things going on for a change! 😀 One last hoorah with my fiancé (that I REALLY don’t have time for!) before I give up my social life completely!

-Rach

I want to hear from you! Join the conversation by posting a comment! If you like this post, or any of my other posts, feel free to pass it along! Choose your preferred platform by clicking on the title of the post, then clicking one of those fancy buttons at the bottom of the post! :)

11 Comments

Filed under Nursing School

11 responses to “Slow Your Roll, Nursing School!

  1. Tai

    Living with my fiance definitely makes MY relationship while in nursing school easier!

    (Adding you to my blogroll. 🙂 )

  2. I would just love in my fiancé lived in the same town! We currently live 3 and 1/2 hours apart. 😦 When I get moved, we’ll still be about 2 hours apart. I’m so very thankful that he is who he is! He’s so supportive and comforting. He’s truly my best friend in the entire world! In fact, I don’t know that I would be headed down this path to nursing if it weren’t for him! He makes my entire life just easier, he never adds any stress. 😀 I love him!

    Sorry to be all sappy. 😛 Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I’m honored! I’m glad that you found me, and thanks for commenting!

    -Rach

  3. Yea I agree with the word of choice. Insane. lol Honestly it’s not difficult what makes it hard is there’s never a freaking enough time to do everything. So I find myself hustling after the clock.

    It’s the adjustment phase. We’ll get through it!

  4. Wow, its a wonder you still have time to put pen to paper. Everything seems to be going at a rIdiculously fast pace.
    Keep it up 😛

    • Immigrant Student,

      I’ve definitely had very little time to do so! I’m so sorry it has taken me so long to get back to your comment (and all of the others!), I’ve been without internet in my new apartment until today! Time has FLOWN by! Our Fall break is next week… FALL BREAK! Before I know it, it’ll be December and the semester will be over. 😀

  5. Glad you are off and running! Hope you have a good semester. I had my own panic attacks this past week, but everything is working out. Practice those drug calculations, you are going to need them. We did this course work last spring, and it’s so very important. WHen you are in clinicals, you will be expected to have this down. I get to start my first clinical in an elemetary school! It will be fun to give the kids hearing and vision screens. When you get run down, just remember Dory from Nemo… “Just keep swimming! Just keep swimming!”

  6. Thanks for the encouragement, nurseschoolmom! Wow, this semester has absolutely flown by! I haven’t had internet in my new apartment (until today, woohoo!), so I have fallen off of the blogging bandwagon! Hopefully, things will get back on track soon! I am absolutely, head-over-heels in love with nursing school! It has been AMAZING! 😀

  7. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also
    with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

    • Thank you, Denny. That was a very nice comment! This is not a paid theme, I did all of the customizing myself. I’m no computer whiz, but wordpress makes the blog life easy! Come back, please! New stuff coming very soon!

  8. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible!

    Thanks!

    • I am not a him, so you’re cool there. I feel like nursing school is a secret club, ya know? Only those who are there or have been there before know the struggle. Hell, I pretty much captain the Struggle Bus. Thank you for the comment! I’m about to upload wonderful new stuffs. 😀

Leave a Reply

