Cooking, Anyone?

This post is going to be way off topic. Just a heads up!

And Gertie, I know this is going to be right up your alley so I expect some feedback! Hehe  😉

As you are all well aware, I am moving back out into the real world soon. My last adventure in apartment living was just mediocre. The apartment was in the ghetto and I had horrible neighbors. I worked all the time, my apartment was bare and drab, my cat was constantly destroying something, and the place was always a wreck. This time around, I’m hoping to reform my ways. LOL I don’t have to work to survive like I did previously and that exhausted me so much that I rarely ever cleaned. (Of course, I still need to work but it only has to be part-time. Fingers crossed for a campus job!) So, with a fresh start, I’m hoping to instill some better habits on the home front. I just want an apartment that is comfortable enough to have friends over without worrying about what they think.

Since I’ll be spending more time at home, I also want to venture into the realm of cooking. What’s my cooking motto? If it doesn’t go in to the microwave, I don’t eat it! I am so sick and tired of eating nasty, bland, microwave food. Not to mention, my mid-section isn’t very appreciative of my microwave food habits either. I don’t really know where to start. I do know that I need to do some more shopping for proper kitchen utensils. I thought I might look around for a very basic cookbook for a very beginner cook, you know, something that has all of the basic cooking essentials. Any advice? Any cookbook recommendations?

I hope that everyone is having a great Tuesday! We don’t have much freedom left, so enjoy it while it lasts! 😀

-Rach

I want to hear from you! Join the conversation by posting a comment! If you like this post, or any of my other posts, feel free to pass it along! Choose your preferred platform by clicking on the title of the post, then clicking one of those fancy buttons at the bottom of the post! :)

 

2 Comments

Filed under Not-So-School-Related

2 responses to “Cooking, Anyone?

  1. The Healthy College Cookbook : Easy Quick Cheap by Nimetz — is pretty good. It tells you what cooking tools to buy and the recipes are easy, cheap, and quick! (just like the title of the book say lol )

    As far as spices — my basic stash includes garlic salt, pepper, paprika, and montreal steak seasoning. Fun times! Make sure you take pictures of your very first culinary masterpiece 🙂

    • I knew that you’d have a great recommendation! I just flipped through the book on Amazon…looks like a winner! I really like the list of things to buy!

      I didn’t even think about spices! Thanks for the heads up! Silly me. I can assure you that it will be no masterpiece, but I shall try to photograph the adventure! 😀

Leave a Reply

