Confession.

I have a confession to make. The initial countdown was wrong. *GASP* How could I be so careless?! Actually, I was only off by 1 day. That’s not horrible, right? 4 weeks and 4 days is the correct count. I promise! 🙂

I’m already starting to pep-talk myself for the upcoming semester. Telling myself that I’m going to exercise, eat well, keep on top of my reading, and spend time enjoying my hobbies. I’m not so sure that it’s working! I’ve already started to think about ways I can get out of doing the things that I enjoy the most. Why on earth would I do that? Because I have myself believing that I will no longer have time to eat, sleep, and breathe, let alone actually enjoy something! However, I am aware that you have to have some kind of break from school or you’ll find yourself being the patient for your own clinical group’s psych rotation. I just need to convince myself to get it together! Easier said than done, huh? I think the phrase, “Where there is a will, there is a way” goes here. What do you all plan to use as a stress buster? Anybody got any good tips, exercises, or fun things to help reduce the stress?

Now that we’re all stressed out from thinking about being stressed out, let’s end on a more positive note…

Only two days left until the weekend! WOOHOO! I hope everyone is having a great week!

-Rach

I want to hear from you! Join the conversation by posting a comment! If you like this post, or any of my other posts, feel free to pass it along! Choose your preferred platform by clicking on the title of the post, then clicking one of those fancy buttons at the bottom of the post! :)

4 Comments

Filed under School Countdown

4 responses to “Confession.

  1. I think one has to remember what is really important. Yes, school is important, good grades are important, but what’s the whole point of it all, if one ends up not being able to do anything because of health problems (physically and mentally) because they weren’t taking care of themselves. I’m not saying it’s you, I’m just speaking in general 🙂

    It’s important to take the time (even if it’s just an hour) to take a break by doing things we love to regain any sanity lost 🙂

    Stress buster for me is baking, which I hope in time, I’ll learn to have a little bit and give the rest away

    Have a great weekend!

    • Good points, Gertie! I’m a bit of a perfectionist and that leads to most of my downfalls. 😦 Hopefully, I can let some of the little things go this semester. LOL I just need to quit talking myself out of the best parts of life! Send your amazing looking baking my way…I’ll help a girl out! 😀

  2. Marcia

    Oh how I understand what you’re saying!!! I’ve been in school for almost 3 years now, most of that time has been taking gen eds & prereqs. I’m getting ready to enter my 2nd semester of nursing. The semester hadn’t even started & I haven’t stopped being stressed from last semester. I wanted to have spent the summer working out, lose 30lbs & have had some fun. Instead, I’ve worked, spent a tin if time on my summer online classes & moved. Definitely not the summer break I planned for. I work in the psych unit & keep thinking I’ll be making a VIP reservation if I don’t take time out to have some fun. But, don’t see that happening soon. They’ve already posted things on BB for us to be reviewing.

    Do you ever find yourself wondering if you’ve made the right decision? I have been lately. But, I’m sure it’s just stress related.

    Anyway, didn’t mean to vent really. I just stumbled upon your blog. You make me laugh, I’ll def be checking in. Ive thought about starting a blog myself, but yah..I don’t have time!! LOL

    • Gen. Eds. BLAH! I am SO glad that’s over with! For me, it’s all about nursing from here on out! 🙂 Poor Marcia, summer online class?! Are you crazy?! Or did you not have a choice? At first, I was sad about having to go on summer break, but now I realize that was a just some freak, momentary lapse in reason. I WOULD HAVE GONE CRAZY!

      We are supposed to have things on Bb to review too, but they haven’t made it online yet. (BTW- don’t you just HATE Bb?) I don’t know what’s going on with that. If I’m going to have things to do before orientation, I would like to have plenty of time to do them!

      As far as doubting my choice, I used to do it all the time. In fact, I would have horrible crying, slinging snot, the world is going to end kinda meltdowns about the decisions I was making involving college. But that was all before my final decision to actually take on the nursing major. During my first nursing semester, I was so overwhelmed with the amount of information, I doubted that I would ever be GOOD enough, but rarely if I had made the right decision. I think it’s completely normal! Just think about why you wanted to become a nurse in the first place. What is it about nursing that you really like? What are you ultimate career goals? When I start to feel the doubt creeping up, asking myself these questions and dreaming about my desired job (flight nursing, *sigh* :D) helps me regain my sense of peace. It also helps refresh my motivation! I hope this helps!

      You are welcome to vent here, anytime! Please do come back! You can click my subscribe link, put in your email, and it’ll do the rest for you! My posts will come straight to your email!

      -Rach

Leave a Reply

